Gartner Peer Insights Customers’ Choice Category Distinction Methodology 1.1

Gartner Peer Insights Customers’ Choice Category Distinction Methodology 1.1

For July 2020 through April 2021 publish. Click here for May 2021 publish and after. 

In response to end-users’ desire to evaluate solutions based on specific attributes of their organization, such as industry, company size, or deployment region, Gartner Peer Insights recognizes highly-rated vendors in specified categories through the Customers’ Choice Category Distinction, in markets where there is sufficient review volume to support the category analysis described below.

Review Eligibility

Only reviews submitted and published during the 12 month eligibility period (retrospective from review submission deadline) are considered.





  • Review submission deadline for Customers’ Choice Category Distinction: Oct 31 11:59PM ET*, 2019

  • “Eligible reviews” must be submitted between Nov 1 12:00 AM, 2018 and Oct 31 11:59PM, 2019, AND are approved/published on the web site

  • Reviews from end-user companies <$50M in annual revenue will not be eligible for the distinction analysis.

  • Reviews for legacy products (no longer being sold by the vendor) are not considered in the analysis for this distinction.

Recognition Criteria

In a specified market, distinctions will be given to a maximum of seven vendors in a category according to these criteria:

  • The vendor must have at least one product that is aligned to the market.

  • During the submission period — 12 months prior to the review submission deadline — a vendor must have:

    • 25 or more published reviews within the category
    • Rating above the market average, which is determined at the end of the submission period for that category
  • In categories where more than seven vendors meet the above criteria, the seven vendors with the highest number of eligible reviews within the submission period will be selected as designees. If there are two or more qualified vendors tied on the 7th highest number of eligible reviews, each of the tied vendors will receive a distinction.

  • If a reviewer has selected multiple deployment regions, the review will be counted as one review against each of the different deployment regions selected.

  • Only the categories that have at least 4 vendors with 10 or more eligible reviews on the Gartner Peer Insights platform will have Category Distinction.

Vendors who meet the above criteria will receive the Category Distinction in the qualified category, irrespective of the eligibility of any other Gartner Peer Insights distinctions.

Category List

Gartner Peer Insights collects end-users’ industry, company size, and deployment region from their account profiles and submitted reviews. The following list includes all potential categories a vendor may qualify a distinction for.

  • Company Size (Measured by Annual Revenue)

    • Global Enterprise (10B+ USD)
    • Large Enterprise (1B – 10B USD)
    • Mid-size Enterprise (50M – 1B USD)
    • Public Sector, Gov’t, Edu
  • Industry

    • Communications
    • Construction
    • Education
    • Energy and Utilities
    • Finance
    • Government
    • Healthcare
    • Manufacturing
    • Media
    • Retail
    • Services
    • Transportation
  • Deployment Region

    • Asia/Pacific
    • Europe, the Middle East and Africa
    • Latin America
    • North America

Additional Resources

See what sub-industries and countries are included in each industry and deployment region, respectively.

Ratings and reviews must first pass our validation, conflict of interest and moderation process — please see our Peer Insights Review FAQ.

For more questions, please see our Customers’ Choice FAQ page or contact

For vendor guidelines on how to use the Gartner Peer Insights Customers’ Choice badge and Gartner Copyright and Quote Policy.

* All deadlines refer to Eastern Time.